All 50 states, Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed
publication, and all states are available back to inception. Coverage for Arkansas begins with pre-state territorial Acts (1818).
Discover the history of legal education in America through the works of the Law Academy, one of the earliest educational institutions in the United States for law-related education, established in 1821 in Philadelphia, PA. This database gathers the Academy's pamphlets and pairs them with biographical highlights of the author and a summary of its contents.
~[373]~
Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, Public Spaces and Accommodations, Historical Attitudes and Analysis.
This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations. A separate subcollection, Historical Attitudes and Analysis, presents books, pamphlets, reports, and more .
LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more. A separate subcollection presents historical texts whose views some readers may find offensive today, showing the prejudicial beliefs that permeated society and helped formed the laws of their time.
The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Beyond their publications, the Justice Initiative represents individuals before domestic and international human rights tribunals. Their advocacy work targets national and regional policymakers and governments to advance human rights and the rule of law, and they support local, national, and international efforts to expand access to justice.
Open Society Foundations were founded by George Soros and are the world’s largest private funder of independent groups working for justice, democratic governance, and human rights. Today, the Foundations fund groups and projects in more than 120 countries.
The Open Society Justice Initiative database brings the Justice Initiative’s scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Justice Initiative in HeinOnline’s fully searchable, image-based format. To learn more about the Open Society Foundation and the Justice Initiative, please visit their website at https://www.justiceinitiative.org/
